The "Skinny" on Running a Bass Boat in Shallow water.

My unofficial guide to using a bass boat in shallow water…..
<o></o>
I am NO EXPERT, but this will make a trip into the backwaters a bit more enjoyable.
This is based on water 2 ft. and less.
<o></o>
Gear needed:<o></o>

• Push Pole. With sand or mud attachment (which ever is needed in your area)
  • GPS (not necessarily a need but its really nice to have)
  • Patience
  • Hydraulic jack plate.
  • Water Pressure gage.
  • Small wire brush
  • 8” of small bailing wire.
<o></o> OK, we have the basic extra gear needed for fishing skinny water. So now you are probably wondering why, well if anyone fishes any type of river system will have some type of backwaters. Backwaters can hold some of the best bass and other fish especially in the springtime.
<o></o>
A few rules to follow in venturing into backwater territory:<o></o>

• BE PATIENT! Do not go blasting away on plane getting to what you think is a deep lake, yea it may look deep but it may be only 6” deep in some areas. (We all know rivers fluctuate in level like gas prices) Instead idle around off of plane so if you were to run too shallow you can back off with a push pole with ease. Then find another route. Chances are there are 8-10ft holes around and holding many bass.
  • Trim up. When idling around it’s a good idea to trim up to the point you are in tilt. Just to get the skeg and prop out of “harms way” if you were to hit a stump it will have less damage to your boat. Keep in mind if you are unsure, slow down.
  • If you were to encounter a stump, record it via way point on your GPS. Chances are there will be more in that general area mark as many as you find, for two reasons. 1. Bass usually hold there, and you know where not to go when the big motor is running.